Additional candidates file for office

Cris Ritchie — Editor

November 15, 2013

HAZARD – With more than 20 people filing for office last week on the first day of the filing period for the 2014 election, the pace since then has slowed considerably.

Eight additional candidates have entered their names in races set for next year, including the first candidate for Hazard city commissioner, Janie Combs Hackney, who works with the Eastern Kentucky Concentrated Employment Program in Hazard. As of Friday, no other candidate for the city commission has filed.

Also filing this week was District 3 Constable Clayton Church, a Democrat who is seeking is second term as an elected official.

The race for magistrate in District 1 also received another candidate, bringing the crowded field to nine candidates (seven Democrats and two Republicans) thus far as Democrat Brownlow Neace entered the race.

Attorney Sam Collins officially filed to enter the circuit judge’s race, while John “Joe” Mize will be running for sheriff and Jeanette Hughes filed for re-election as jailer. She will be running against three other Democrats so far in the May primary, including Calvin Sizemore, who also filed for office this week.

The following is a complete list of candidates as of Friday at noon:

State Senator

Brandon Smith (R)

State Representative

Fitz Steele (D)

Circuit Judge

Alison Wells

Sam Collins

District Judge

Leigh Anne Stephens

County Judge-Executive

Denny Ray Noble (D)

County Clerk

Haven King (D)


Chris Fugate (D)

Johnnie Brashear (D)

John “Joe” Mize


Dexter Howard (D)

Kenny Miller (D)

Calvin Sizemore (D)

Jeanette Miller Hughes (D)

Property Valuation Administrator

John Frank Gross (D)

Magistrate, District 1

Jeffrey Allen Combs (D)

Charles Baker (D)

Jerry Wayne Stacy (D)

Rosa Couch (D)

Keith Miller (D)

Bill Combs (D)

Brownloe Neace (D)

Frank Hurley (R)

Steve Argonis (R)

Constable, District 1

Nathan Miller (D)

Magistrate, District 2

Ronald Combs (D)

Bubby Combs (D)

Constable, District 2

David B. Miller (D)

Magistrate, District 3

Mark Raleigh (D)

Kenny Cole (D)

James Ritchie (D)

Constable, District 3

Clayton Church (D)

Mayor, City of Hazard

Happy Mobelini

Hazard City Commission

Janie Combs Hackney