Last updated: January 14. 2014 1:47PM - 851 Views
By - aholliday@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

With the deadline to file nearly two weeks away, the pace seems to have picked up for those putting their names in the hat for the 2014 primary election. Six new names have been entered as possible candidates for next year’s election bid as of Tuesday—some of them familiar and some of them not.

Allison Lundergan Grimes officially filed last week on the Democratic ticket for the U.S. Senator race after months of campaigning against incumbent Senator Mitch McConnell.

Commonwealth’s Attorney John Hansen also officially filed to run for Perry County Circuit Judge last week.

State Representative Fitz Steele’s five year career in the legislature has been challenged by Neal Feltner, who is also running on the Democratic ticket as ofMonday.

Sara Turner also filed on Monday for Perry County Sheriff, a position that has never been held by a woman in the 76 years it has existed.

Two current Hazard City Commissioners have filed to run again for their positions. Ricky Steele began serving as commissioner only last year, while J. “Fitz” Gilbert has served five terms as commissioner.

The ballots for school board members for both districts remain empty at this point, as do the ballots for offices in the City of Vicco and the City of Buckhorn.

U.S. Senator

Matt Bevin (R)

Gurley L. Martin (R)

Mitch McConnell (R)

Tom Recktenward (D)

Alison Lundergan Grimes (D)

State Senator

Brandon Smith (R)

State Representative

Fitz Steele (D)

Neal Feltner (D)

Circuit Judge

Scott Blair

Alison Wells

Sam Collins

John Hansen

District Judge

Leigh Anne Stephens

County Judge-Executive

Denny Ray Noble (D)

Robert “Butch” Chaney (R)- Withdrawn

Scott Alexander (D)

County Clerk

Haven King (D)


Chris Fugate (D)

Johnnie Brashear (D)

John “Joe” Mize (D)

Les Burgett (D)

County Attorney

John Carl Shackelford (D)


Dexter Howard (D)

Kenny Miller (D)

Calvin Sizemore (D)

Jeanette Miller Hughes (D)

Darrell “Frog” Cole (D)

Rick Wooton (R)


Wayne E. Bowling (D)

Property Valuation Administrator

John Frank Gross (D)

Magistrate, District 1

Jeffrey Allen Combs (D)

Charles Baker (D)

Jerry Wayne Stacy (D)

Rosa Couch (D)

Keith Miller (D)

Bill Combs (D)

Brownloe Neace (D)

Jeff Dixon (D)

Charles E. Feltner (D)

Frank Hurley (R)

Steve Argonis (R)

Constable, District 1

Nathan Miller (D)

Fred Neace (D)

Magistrate, District 2

Ronald Combs (D)

Bubby Combs (D)

Hib Herald (D)

James “Big ‘Un” Jewell (D)

Constable, District 2

David B. Miller (D)

Magistrate, District 3

Mark Raleigh (D)

Kenny Cole (D)

James Ritchie (D)

Cletas Moore (D)

Constable, District 3

Clayton Church (D)

Eugene “Buck” Fields (D)

Dwight Wooton (R)

Mayor, City of Hazard

Happy Mobelini

Hazard City Commission

Janie Combs Hackney

Ricky Steele

J. “Fitz” Gilbert

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Hazard Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com