LEXINGTON — The Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) will honor the top officials for 2018 on May 6 at its 25th annual officials recognition banquet. The ceremony, conducted at the KHSAA Offices, honors the finalists for each sport in which the KHSAA licenses officials. Doors will open at 1:30 p.m. with the program scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. Among the basketball official of the year candidates is Hazard resident Kristie Combs. A veteran official, Combs has been nominated for the award along with Tyrone Fields (Whitesburg), James Johns (Louisville) and Raymond Lightfoot (Frankfort). 

Finalists in each sport were selected through a combination of service to their association and excellence in officiating. One official in each sport will be named “Outstanding Official of the Year” for his/her sport in appreciation of their dedication and service to schools and student-athletes across the state. The Association will also present the annual Larry G. Boucher Jr. Supervisor of the Year Award during the ceremony.

Outstanding Official Nominees

Baseball - Dale Conn (Harold), Hilton Isable (Bowling Green), Scott Moore (Union)

Basketball - Kristie Combs (Hazard), Tyrone Fields (Whitesburg), James Johns (Louisville), Raymond Lightfoot (Frankfort)

Field Hockey - Craig Kalbfleisch (Louisville), Peg Wilfong (Taylorsville)

Football - Stewart Hawkins (Bardstown), Jim Powell (Winchester), Jason Skirvin (Wilder)

Soccer - Jordan Barker (Morehead), Sara Renyer (Louisville)

Softball - Randy Chapman (Owensboro), Steve Chasteen (Cynthiana)

Swimming & Diving - Ruth Ann Bode (Fisherville), Mark Koors (Villa Hills)

Track & Field - Linda Sarrett Mathis (La Grange), Leslie Smith (Lawrenceburg)

Volleyball - Bill Renzi (Russell), Tim Sharp (Bowling Green)

Wrestling - Robert Durham (Louisville), Brience Willian (Hodgenville)

Recommended for you